Blogchatter A2Z 2024

Dear (I)n-Laws

I grew up
Hearing
Believing
Seeing
Almost never anything good about the family a girl gets married into

Some would say women aren’t allowed to pursue a job or profession
Some would talk about the many and ridiculous restrictions imposed
Some would narrate horrific incidents on the atrocities someone faced
Some would describe how females in a particular family are supposed to dress and behave

All this always made me weary about what would happen with me
Everything and everyone indicated that life would be difficult for me after becoming a part of a new family

Then…
It was all shattered
All that I was led to believe was proven wrong

You not only accepted me with open arms
But…
Respected me for who I was
Supported my work, choices, dreams and passion
Helped me become a better person
Rarely spoke ill about me, neither in my absence, nor in my presence
Never supported the husband, just because he is yours and I was an outsider
Always allowed me the space to live, breathe, do, and just be, me

In fact on a few occasions
You stood by me, supported my choices, and cheered me on
More than my own family ever had or could

Thank you
For breaking the stereotypes
For being better than everyone assumes
For making it possible for women like me to be less anxious about life after marriage

***

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z and this is my ninth post for the month long challenge corresponding to the alphabet ‘I’. Check out my theme reveal to know more.

Catch the posts corresponding to other alphabets: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y,Z.

Stay tuned for my next post, corresponding to the alphabet ‘H’, coming up tomorrow.

Thank you for reading.

To know more about me, you can:

26 thoughts on “Dear (I)n-Laws”

  1. Your words are encouraging. Indeed, we need more people who are In-laws, as you have. This gratitude is a small thing you can do for all that they do for you. This is a very beautiful gesture. I would also take pride in mentioning that you are also good; that’s why they also love to care for you. We cannot clap with one hand; we need both hands. Since they are good, you are also good, and vice-versa. You know your story encourages us to not lose hope and to expect the best. Things happen like this also. My gratitude goes to your in-laws too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe the in-laws who will read this poem will learn something and the ones who already are supporting they will feel proud for being the way they are.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so sweet. Its really nice that we have good examples. Or say, the other picture. You’re blessed but i think your in laws would say, they are too, to have someone like you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment