Blogchatter A2Z 2024

Dear (H)usband

On the day I first met you
I was prepared for yet another let down
I had almost given up on the process of meeting someone in this manner, through the family,
I felt it would all be a sham, knowing bits about you simply via a biodata
I expected you to turn out like all others before you, merely good on paper
I came armed with my best defenses, a book to save myself the boredom
And some generic Q&A for social courtesy

But
You proved me wrong
You made me laugh
You made me comfortable
You broke stereotypes about your gender I grew up believing
You made your way into my heart
And just like that, from a stranger you became my life partner

Even now
You continue proving me wrong, with your choices, your attitude and your behaviour
You shatter myths about your kind showing me how men can be feminists too
You prove that with the right person, everything is possible
You make me see my worth, the way I probably never could or would
You let me be, something I thought would be difficult based on my conditioning of how a husband is supposed to be

From then till now,
In the eight years of knowing you
You accepted me as I was, warts and all
You accept me as I am, different from the person you met and got married to

Thank you
For keeping the good in you intact
Thank you
For letting go of the bad and changing yourself for my happiness sake
Thank you
For accepting me as I am, emotionally and physically, which ultimately led to self-acceptance and self-love too
Thank you
For making it possible for me to explore my passion, and pursue a profession I thought would remain a dream
Thank you
For coming into my life
Thank you,
For everything

The most important thank you though would be
For hanging around and letting the universe do its thing
For giving us a chance to discover ourselves, without the cultural and societal beliefs and expectations
For proving that those who are meant to be together, will find their way towards each other
Yes, it took over three years from a no to a yes for our relationship to see its happily ever after
But as they say all good things take time and you proved that, to and for me

P.S: In an unbelievable stroke of fate, the letter ‘H’ for this year’s #BlogchatterA2Z alongside my chosen theme ‘Gratitude in Action’, coincides with your birthday. Just one more meant to be! Happy Birthday, hubby dearest.

***

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z and this is my eight post for the month long challenge corresponding to the alphabet ‘H’. Check out my theme reveal to know more.

Catch the posts corresponding to other alphabets: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y,Z.

Stay tuned for my next post, corresponding to the alphabet ‘I’, coming up tomorrow.

Thank you for reading.

To know more about me, you can:

10 thoughts on “Dear (H)usband”

  1. This is an amazing love poem. Wow you made me realize that even Arranged marriages holds love just like love marriage. This poem is a gem. I will dedicate the first two stanzas of this poem to my soulmate after few months of getting married.

    This is a Masterpiece on Love!❤

    Like

Leave a comment