Blogchatter A2Z 2024

Dear (O)phthalmologist

For a long time
I kept a problem suppressed
Something that was causing me unrest
I learnt to accept it as part of life,
The thought of being alienated
Made me come to live with it
The acceptance that maybe this is how it is for others too
Gave me the strength to not share my concerns with anyone

When things got out of hand
When I could no longer ignore the problem
When others began noticing it without me having to share it
When that one issue led to other issues, physically and emotionally
I couldn’t keep quiet any longer
I couldn’t hide my weakness

That’s when
You came into my life,
Making me understand the problem,
Leading me to realize how normal it was,
Guiding me towards the solution,
Setting it all up such that it made everything easy and simple,
Facilitating me to see, literally and figuratively

Thank you
For helping me accept myopia
Thank you
For making it possible for me to see the world and its beauty
Thank you
For empowering me to pursue things that bring me happiness
Thank you
For making it possible for me to read, write, travel, and do the activities which would’ve been difficult, if not impossible, without a pair of well-functioning eyes
Thank you
For the gift of sight
Thank you
For making it possible for me and those like me to lead a ‘normal’ life

***

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z and this is my fifteenth post for the month long challenge corresponding to the alphabet ‘O’. Check out my theme reveal to know more.

Catch the posts corresponding to other alphabets: ABCDEFGHIJK,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y,Z.

Stay tuned for my next post, corresponding to the alphabet ‘P’, coming up tomorrow.

Thank you for reading.

To know more about me, you can:

7 thoughts on “Dear (O)phthalmologist”

  1. //Making me understand the problem,
    Leading me to realize how normal it was,//

    That’s the supreme quality of any physician. They should give ears to their patients. Then, explain them patiently. Unfortunately, many of them fails. I have a GP. He will listen to me with compassion, he will listen despite I spoke long sentences for longer hours. But his meter will be clicking every 15 minutes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment