Blogchatter A2Z 2024

Dear (J)ournal

You’re aware of my aversion to pen and paper writing
Still,
You put up with my reluctance
You open-up your space to me
You allow me to vent on your pages, most of it just half-hearted, incomplete, incomprehensible, incoherent ramblings
You let me use use you for creating goal-oriented as well as mundane lists

You’re okay with being my second choice, just a back up I turn to, when your digitally advanced cousin isn’t around or available to me
You’re fine with the fact that though you were my first, I easily put you on the back burner when a better-looking e-journaling option was put into my lap

Thank you
For staying on despite the permanent status of being a ‘back-up’
For holding my teenage secrets, some of which were plain embarrassing
For helping me discover my passion for writing
For becoming my therapist when I didn’t even know I needed one

I can’t promise to make you my main
I can’t promise to come back to you everyday
I will promise to fill your pages sooner or later
I will promise to have you on my desk and be witness to my writing
I will promise to make you the first draft of most of my content pieces

In exchange,
Will you promise to keep my writings within your pages, a secret for life?

***

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z and this is my tenth post for the month long challenge corresponding to the alphabet ‘J’. Check out my theme reveal to know more.

Catch the posts corresponding to other alphabets: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y,Z.

Stay tuned for my next post, corresponding to the alphabet ‘K’, coming up tomorrow.

Thank you for reading.

To know more about me, you can:

9 thoughts on “Dear (J)ournal”

  1. Writing will become a therapeutic tool in next generation. No worries.

    Will you promise to keep my writings within your pages, a secret for life?

    This time, you’ve concluded with a riddle, and we chase after it out of curiosity!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ”digitally advanced cousin” hahahahah this digital world has distanced physical things though a writer still comes back to pen and paper

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many of us use journals to record our gratitude but it was great to see a gratitude poem for that same journal. As much as I too dislike pen and paper writing, there is something instantly soothing about a pen and paper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes. But I’d still go for digital tools if both are kept in front of me, especially if at gunpoint🙈 because OMG! I’m pretty sure they won’t be able to decipher my writing and what if ‘Save me’ ends up reading ‘Safe me’ and people think I’m just fine.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment