Poems

WhoDunIt

Blood on the walls
Shattered glass on the floor
Broken China across the kitchen and dining area
The furniture helter-skelter

It was as if
I’d walked into a crime scene
Not unlike the ones I’d read about, or
Seen in the movies
Had I wished for a crime thriller or a murder mystery that hard?

With trepidation and mounting fear
I took one step at a time
Looking for the body
Anticipating the killer to pounce on me
And claim me as his next victim

Tick tock
Bang!
A whimper,
Who was that?

I turned around, scared to bits
There stood the culprit
Without guilt or fear
Face dripping red
The eyes challenging

Meow!
Rolling my eyes I scooped up the troublemaker
Sherlock, my cat
Was apparently nothing like his name source,
In fact quite the opposite

***

This poem is written in response to text prompt number five in
The Poetry Marathon: “Write a mystery poem. The crime could be real or imagined. The poem could be clue based or narrative. The details are up to you.”

Note: This post is a part of Blogchatter Half Marathon 2023

Thank you for reading.

6 thoughts on “WhoDunIt”

Leave a comment